Death-Adoring Band Gruesome Detail Debut

Supergroup includes members of Exhumed, Possessed, Malevolent Creation and Derketa


Savage Land

Long ago, we told you about death metal supergroup Gruesome, which features guys from Exhumed, Possessed, Malevolent Creation and Derketa.

The band formed over a mutual respect for the works of Death, and has said its music would be an homage of sorts to the long-defunct groundbreakers.

Gruesome features Exhumed’s Matt Harvey and drummer Gus Rios from Malevolent Creation with Possessed guitarist Daniel Gonzalez and Derketa bassist Robin Mazen.

The band’s debut, Savage Land, was recorded in Florida (where it all began) last summer and will be released April 21 through Relapse Records.

Elaborated Harvey:

“We had such a blast writing and recording this album, I just hope people enjoy it half as much as I enjoyed doing it. It was a great experience working with my friends in Florida and getting to write and record my take on the Death sound. I’m beyond happy with the way everything came out and I hope people take it as the loving, respectful piece of work that it is. I know that sounds counterintuitive for a death metal album, but the whole band is really a super nerdy fan letter to Chuck [Schuldiner], James [Murphy], Rick [Rozz], Terry [Butler], Chris [Reifert], Paul [Masvidal], Sean [Reinert], and Stevie D [DiGiorgio] for making records that have given me literally decades of enjoyment. Having had a chance to meet and hang out with all of those dudes from the early Death days, with the exception of Bill Andrews, has been nothing but humbling, rewarding, enlightening and has only deepened my love for the band and made it that much more personal. So I decided to write an album about ’80s horror movies and deadly diseases, which is what anyone would do under the circumstances, right? Anyway, if you like late ’80s Death, I sincerely hope you enjoy our take on it, which is really what this album is, with all the drippy blood and inverted crosses in the logo that that implies.”

The upcoming album features a guest guitar solo on “Closed Casket” by James Murphy, which is rad.

Here’s the album’s track listing, followed by a video teaser of the forthcoming material.

1. Savage Land
2. Trapped In Hell
3. Demonized
4. Hideous
5. Gangrene
6. Closed Casket
7. Psychic Twin
8. Gruesome

Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like