Details For Deftones Covers Vinyl LP Released


On April 16 — Record Store Day — the Deftones will release a vinyl collection of cover songs they’re calling Covers. How apropos.

Only 5,000 copies of the vinyl LP will be released for sale and the effort contains several covers the band’s already released, both as B-sides and on their 2005 compilation B-Sides and Rarities. So, basically, this is a record for people who still own record players. It’s still kind of awesome that they’re releasing the thing in honor of Record Store Day.

The set features 11 tracks, including covers of The Smiths, Duran Duran, The Cure, Drive Like Jehu, and Sade — perhaps the best cover of “No Ordinary Love” ever put to tape. You can see the full track list after the jump.

Covers track listing:

Side A:

1. “Drive” (The Cars)
2. “Caress” (Drive Like Jehu)
3. “Please Please Let Me Get What I Want” (The Smiths)
4. “No Ordinary Love” (Sade)
5. “Savory” (Jawbox)
6. “Do You Believe” (The Cardigans)

Side B:

1. “Simple Man” (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
2. “Ghosts” (Japan)
3. “The Chauffeur” (Duran Duran)
4. “If Only Tonight We Could Sleep” (The Cure)
5. “Sleep Walk” (Santo and Johnny)

Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like