Devin Townsend, Serj Tankian, Ihsahn Team Up For Charity Track

I want

Revolution Harmony, a non-profit label launched by British music journalist Ray Holroyd, will release an all-star charity single July 18 called “We Are.”

The song features vocals by Serj Tankian of System of a Down fame and the one and only Ihsahn, who was in Emperor.

The song additionally features guitar solos by my hero and yours, Devin Townsend.  
Composed, arranged, programmed and produced by Holroyd in Vancouver, the complex international studio project was recorded in North America, England, Norway and New Zealand, then mixed by Rohan Onraet (Slipknot, Machine Head) in London, and mastered by Ted Jensen (Green Day, Muse) in New York.

The single also features Stefan Loh on guitars, and additional vocals from the young up-and-coming UK singer Abbie Johnson.  
Holroyd’s label acts as a two-way channel, providing an outlet for artists to release their music worldwide and earn money from it, and providing an inlet for the label profits from that music to be redirected to charities that restore harmony between all people, animals and the environment.
The lyrical theme in “We Are” is based on the concept behind Revolution Harmony, which is essentially the belief that musical harmony has the power to inspire a revolution towards societal harmony.

The single is dedicated to Nelson Mandela and the memory of Lucky Dube, regarded as South Africa’s Bob Marley, and will be released worldwide on Mandela Day, with all proceeds donated to Buskaid, a charity that provides free music lessons and instruments to children in the townships of South Africa.

Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like