Ex-Lostprophets Members Form No Devotion With Thursday Singer

Band releases single, album details

No DevotionNo Devotion

No Devotion

The dudes in Lostprophets who aren’t secret perverts — guitarists Mike Lewis and Lee Gaze, keyboardist Jamie Oliver, bassist Stuart Richardson and drummer Luke Johnson — have, as suspected, joined forces with singer Geoff Rickly of Thursday in a new band called No Devotion.

The band’s first single, “Stay,” was released via iTunes and is available for streaming below.

A 12-inch vinyl version of the single — also featuring the track the track “Eyeshadow” — will be made available through Rickly’s own Collect Records on July 12 in Europe and July 22 in the U.S.

The Lostprophets dissolved after the band’s frontman was arrested for baby rape.

After some reflection, music started to form, and the band approached Rickly with a batch of instrumental tracks.

“To be honest, I never really listened to Lostprophets,” Rickly admits. “But with this music, we speak a common language. You don’t really grow out of punk, you grow with it. To my mind, post-punk was about taking a more sophisticated approach to that sound, and I think we all have a shared respect for that era of modern music.”

After much consideration, Rickly agreed to front the new project. In light of the recent controversy, no one believed that this was an easy request.

“I had always liked these guys in passing: they’re funny and self-aware. I didn’t think it was fair, what was happening to them. And, well, the music was too good to pass up,” he says, simply.

Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like