Google Hangouts’ Smart Suggestions Allow You to Share Location Easily

It’s been years since Google Hangouts replaced Google’s in-browser chat app, but many users still refer to it as Google Chat or at least many of them are not aware of its existence.

However, that may be about to change, because Google Hangouts is pre-installed in the Android devices; so if you bought a new Android phone, you will notice the new Hangouts icon already installed in it. Hangouts works like all other messaging apps. You can send instant messages and make voice and video calls using the app.

How to Register on Google Hangouts

When it was just starting out, the only way to register on Google Hangouts is to have a Google account. This is an advantage to the Google users, but you can see where the problem lies for non-Google users. If you’ve registered on Google, you will automatically have a Hangouts account. Now, you can also register your mobile number in the app. Once you’ve confirmed your phone number, you can start contacting your friends who are using Google Hangouts and have also confirmed their number.

Smart Location Sharing

If you’re the type of person who wants a specific detail of your friends’ location, things have just gotten better for you. Google Hangouts has smart suggestions that make locating sharing easier. If you’re asked, “Where are you?” the app will recognize these keywords and will give you an option to share your location within the conversation. This way, you no longer have to search the map, drop a pin and send your location to your friends. Google Hangouts’ location sharing is easier, faster and better.

Using Google Hangouts on Multiple Devices

You can log in on Hangouts on your mobile device and desktop. This allows you to easily switch between the two devices whichever one works for you at the time. If you’re going out and have to leave your computer behind, you can open the app on your phone and carry on with your current conversations.

Notifications Overload on Every Device

The disadvantage of running Hangouts in multiple devices is that it sends you notifications on all the devices even though you’re not using all of them at once. This can lead to notifications popping up simultaneously and can be a pain for some users. To avoid this, simply log out of Google Hangouts from the device/s you don’t want to receive notifications. You can also close the app altogether. Android users have a more convenient way to stop the notifications, however. You can snooze the notifications to temporarily stop the alerts on the device.

Redeeming Feature

Possibly the best feature of Google Hangouts is the ability to hold a group video call for free. You can have a group video chat with up to 9 other people who are also using Google Hangouts. This feature is convenient for when you’re planning a trip with your family or friends and want to go over the details with all of them. Start by calling one Google Hangouts users and tap the “Add people” icon to start adding more participants.

0 Shares:
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like