Iron Maiden Guitarist Dave Murray Talks New LP

Iron Maiden

Come August 17, we’ll have some new Iron Maiden material on our hands in the form of The Final Frontier, the band’s 15th studio offering. Think about that; 15 albums of scathing riffs and epic, soaring vocals. Gary Graff over at Dillboard spoke to guitarist Dave Murray about the record recently, and…he makes it hard to get super excited about new Maiden material.

Murray tells Graff the 10-song LP will consist of “straight-ahead, uptempo rock songs with good grooves with some other tracks that are kind of longer and more complex.” Way to sell ‘er, Dave. The album finishes with “When the Wild Wind Blows,” an 11-minute tune and one of the longest the band’s ever put to tape. “The rhythm’s a little bit different from what we’ve done before, and there’s lots of melodies. It’s a big song. We learned it in sections just because it was such a complex arrangement, but it sounds quite natural (on the record).”

I’m not sure what it is, but that quote doesn’t get my ass cheeks tingling with anticipation at all. I’m not sure if it’s Gary’s interviewing technique or whether Dave’s just so fucking sick of talking to people like Gary over the phone when he’d rather be living his life, spending the money his fast fingers have earned him.

Dave says that the album was recorded quickly; some of the best records, as we all know, were recorded in short order. “We breezed through the album, really. We actually finished it in six weeks. We were getting down a track a day — all playing together as a band, Bruce (Dickinson) singing, all in the same room, so there’s a very live-in-the-studio feel to it. Once we finished a track we’d jump straight into doing some extra guitar bits. It was very quick for us.”

Interestingly, the album was tracked — partially — at Compass Point Studios in Nassau (not Long Island) with producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley. That’s the very same place the band recorded 1983’s Piece of Mind, 1984’s Powerslave, and 1986’s Somewhere In Time.

The disc runs 76-plus minutes. Here’s the tracklisting

1. Satellite 15….The Final Frontier (8:40)
2. El Dorado (6:49)
3. Mother Of Mercy (5:20)
4. Coming Home (5:52)
5. The Alchemist (4:29)
6. Isle Of Avalon (9:06)
7. Starblind (7:48)
8. The Talisman (9:03)
9. The Man Who Would Be King (8:28)
10. When The Wild Wind Blows (10:59)


Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like