More Details Revealed About Devin Townsend’s Upcoming Discs


OK, so…the other day, Ghost arrived in my inbox and I nearly sharted all over my good work pants. Boy, wouldn’t have that been awful? Sharting all over your good work pants like that…at work! Fucking A. Well, I hurried home to download Ghost, the first of Devin Townsend’s next two records, and I have been listening to it ever since.

Today, Devin Townsend’s trusty label released song title details for both Ghost — the new age album — and Deconstruction — the schizoid, heavy-as-fuck album — and I will get to that in a minute, but…Ghost is weird. I was prepared for it to be weird, but it’s weird. Like, weird for Devin Townsend weird. And I guess that was sort of the point.

Let’s put it this way: If you think Ki is the best thing Devin Townsend ever released, you are going to fucking love this album. It reminded me of Kitaro — look it up — which my dad used to rock for a spell back in his new age period.

If you think that Physicist or Terria — even Addicted — was Devin at his metal best, then Ghost is going to do nothing for you. It’s all pan flutes, chirping frogs, and wind chimes Devin — not Strapping Young Lad Devin. Seriously…it may be the best new age album EVER but it’s a fucking new age album.

Now, I can’t wait to hear Deconstruction — which, like Ghost, comes out June 21. And judging from the track listing, it will be a fucking monster. After hearing Ghost, dare I say — as a longtime Devin fan — that it could end up being too much…if it’s the polar opposite of Ghost.

Here is the track listing for Ghost:

1. Fly (4:15)
2. Heart Baby (5:55)
3. Feather (11:30)
4. Kawaii (2:52)
5. Ghost (6:24)
6. Blackberry (4:53)
7. Monsoon (4:37)
8. Dark Matters (1:57)
9. Texada (9:30)
10. Seams (4:04)
11. Infinite Ocean (8:01)
12. As You Were (8:47)

And now, Deconstruction:
1. Praise The Lowered (feat. Paul Kuhr of Novembers Doom) (6:02)
2. Stand (feat. Opeth’s Mikael Åkerfeldt) (9:36)
3. Juular (feat. Ihsahn) (3:46)
4. Planet Of The Apes (feat. Between The Buried and Me’s Tommy Rogers) (10:59)
5. Sumeria (feat. Gojira’s Joe Duplantier, and Cynic’s Paul Masvidal) (6:37)
6. The Mighty Masturbator (feat. Dillinger Escape Plan’s Greg Puciato) (16:28)
7. Pandemic (feat. Floor Jansen) (3:29)
8. Deconstruction (feat. Oderus Urungus, and Meshuggah’s Fredrik Thordenal) (9:27)
9. Poltergeist (4:25)

Submit to StumbleUponSubmit to StumbleUponShare on TumblrShare on TumblrShare via emailShare via emailShareShareIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like